top of page

VOTE!

Thursday is it. E-day. Your one-and-only chance to influence how our province is run for the next four years.

Here is where I should give you some patriotic spiel about how important it is for all eligible Ontarian's to vote. I should appeal to your sense of civic duty, arguing that your participation on June 7, 2018 could very well determine our province's future—for good or ill. And I really should make one more appeal to Nickel Belt voters, arguing why each and every one of you should choose me this election. But I won't.

If you aren't motivated to go to the polls by the issues or the candidates or the parties then nothing I can say will convince you. If you aren't outraged by the state of Ontario then, frankly, you've been living under a rock!

I'm a patient man but even I have been driven too far.

Anger and disgust motivated me to run in this election. My winning was always a long-shot. Not only am I new to politics but I'm representing a small regional party—one without the money or organization to compete with the bigger, wealthier, more established parties. So why bother?

Because I believe in the North. Because I believe we could be better. Because I believe change is needed.

Unfortunately, it's looking like the New Democrats are going to take this riding…again. What does that mean for voters? More of the same.

Under NDP representation the Nickel Belt has seen both progress and setbacks. Local MPPs have done their best but the party brass in Toronto has limited them. And that is something the Northern Ontario Party will never do. Not only are our leaders located in the North but we pride ourselves on our freedom. I can do or say anything to help my riding and the NOP won't say "Boo".

And that's rare. In an election where candidates are being routinely slapped down for speaking their mind the NOP stands apart. I am proud to be part of such an open party. Just as I would be proud to stand for Nickel Belt.

Never forget, the North is special. We live in a different region and it needs a different government.

Rather than rehash all the reasons you should vote for my party and me this Thursday (read my previous blogs, I explain many good reasons there) I'll end with a question: What have you got to lose?

Mat

bottom of page